For the purposes of elections, counties are given options in how to establish districts.


Commissioners are elected in county-wide balloting, but are required to reside in a district.


Alachua, Baker, Bay, Charlotte, Citrus, Clay, DeSoto, Dixie, Flagler, Gilchrist, Glades, Hardee, Hernando, Highlands, Holmes, Indian River, Lafayette, Lake, Lee, Levy, Liberty, Marion, Martin, Monroe, Nassau, Okaloosa, Okeechobee, Osceola, Pasco, Polk, Putnam, St. Johns, St. Lucie, Santa Rosa, Seminole, Sumter, Suwannee, Wakulla, Walton, Washington.


Only voters residing in a particular district elect a commissioner from that district to represent them.


Bradford, Brevard, Broward, Calhoun, Collier, Columbia, Escambia, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Hamilton, Hendry, Jackson, Jefferson, Madison, *Miami-Dade, Palm Beach, Sarasota, Taylor, Union.

*Note: Miami-Dade County is governed by a Board of County Commissioners and a Mayor. The commissioners are elected from single-member districts. The Mayor is elected county-wide or at-large. However, the Mayor does not sit with the Board of County Commissioners in a legislative capacity, which differentiates if from Orange County. Therefore, Miami-Dade County’s districting scheme is categorized as single-member in this list.


Some counties mix At-Large and Single Member districts, with voters within a district electing commissioners from within that district and other commissioners are elected in county-wide balloting.


Duval, Hillsborough, Leon, Manatee, *Orange, Pinellas, Volusia.

*Note: In Orange County, commissioners are all elected from single-member districts. However, the county chairman is elected county-wide. In this case, the county chairman does sit with the Board of County Commissioners in a legislative capacity. Therefore, Orange County’s districting scheme is categorized as mixed in this list.