

Gulf Consortium Committee of 15 Agenda August 22, 2013 9:00 a.m.-9:30 am(EDT)

Sheraton Sand Key – Gulf Meeting Room 1160 Gulf Blvd. Clearwater Beach, FL 33767

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance
- 3. Approval of Minutes from June 28, 2013 Meeting
- 4. Public Comment
- 5. Adjourn

Gulf Consortium Committee of 15 Meeting June 28, 2013 12:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. (EDT) Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel Hillsborough County

Directors / Alternates in Attendance: Commissioner Christopher Constance (Charlotte), Richard Wesch, County Attorney (Citrus), Commissioner Donna Fiala (Collier), Mike Cassidy, County Manager (Dixie), Commissioner Wayne Dukes (Hernando), Commissioner Lesley Miller (Hillsborough), Commissioner Betsy Barfield (Jefferson), Commissioner Tammy Hall (Lee), Commissioner Carol Whitmore (Manatee), Commissioner George Neugent (Monroe), Commissioner Jack Mariano (Pasco), Commissioner Susan Latvala (Pinellas), Commissioner Christine Robinson (Sarasota), Commissioner Jim Moody (Taylor)

Agenda Item #1 – Call to Order

Commissioner Grover Robinson called the meeting to order at 11:30 am (EDT) and then excused himself from the meeting.

Agenda Item #3 – Nominations for Committee Chair

A motion to appoint Commissioner Susan Latvala as Chair was presented by Commissioner Christopher Constance and seconded by Commissioner Carol Whitmore.

ACTION: PASSED

Agenda Item #4 – Nominations for Committee Vice Chair

A motion to appoint Commissioner George Neugent was presented by Commissioner Tammy Hall and seconded by Dixie County Manager Mike Cassidy.

ACTION: PASSED

Commissioner Betsy Barfield recommended the Committee add a 3rd commissioner to the Executive Committee, preferable from one of the more northern counties. A motion to appoint Commissioner Betsy Barfield as the 2nd Vice Chair was presented by Commissioner Tammy Hall and seconded by Commissioner George Neugent.

ACTION: PASSED

Agenda Item #5 – Discussion of Proposed Methodology for Computing Allocations for the 15 Nondisproportionately Impacted Counties

Mr. Chris Holley, FAC Executive Director, briefed the Committee on the formula for computing allocations to the 15 Nondisproportionately Impacted Counties. A motion directing staff to forward the proposed methodology to the US Treasury for consideration was approved by Commissioner Wayne Dukes and seconded by Commissioner Tammy Hall.

http://www.fl-counties.com/docs/default-source/restore/june-28-2013-(committee-of-the-15).pdf?sfvrsn=0

ACTION: PASSED

Agenda Item #6 – Public Comment

The Committee heard public comment.

1. Steven Webster, representing Monroe County

Agenda Item #7 – Adjourn

There being no additional items for discussion, the Committee adjourned at 11:52 am (EDT).