FAC offers the solution for your 2016 Ethics needs --ONSITE and ONLINE Ethics Workshops!  Both are available at the new lower price of $75.


During the 2013 Legislative Session, the Florida legislature passed ethics legislation requiring that Commissioners and other Constitutional Officers take four hours of Ethics programming each calendar year.  For the last twenty years, FAC has offered a mandatory Ethics course as part of FAC’s Certified County Commissioner (CCC) Program that meets the requirements addressed in this legislation. FAC continues to offer this course and has added several programming options to make it convenient for Commissioners, County Staff and Constitutional Officers to complete this Ethics, Public Records & Sunshine Law requirement.  You will receive certificates of Completion once you attend the entire workshop. 

•             ONSITE - Three scheduled workshops throughout the year, held in conjunction with our conferences (Legislative Day, Annual Conference and Legislative Conference). 

•             ONLINE - Take the course at your own pace. Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. (Commissioners who choose the online Ethics option will not receive CCC or Torchbearer certification credits for viewing.)

Both workshops are modeled after our onsite program which consists of expert speakers from the Attorney General’s Office and the Florida Commission on Ethics explaining Florida’s stringent laws. Participants will learn ethics requirements for elected officials, understand the Sunshine Law and Public Records Law, learn about reporting requirements, and become familiar with the process of an ethics complaint. The online version includes updated videos from this course and a quiz at the end of each section. Both programs provide certificates verifying completion for your records.  Registration is open now.  Don’t wait until December to get your Ethics!


Our next ONSITE Ethics workshop will be prior to the Legislative Conference on November 29th from 1:00 – 6:00 pm at the Buena Vista Palace in Orange County.  Registration is $75.00 (this is the new reduced price which no longer includes lunch prior to the workshop).  You may register online or onsite.  For more information, contact Becky Berentsen.