The Gulf Consortium website is moving.  For the most up to date information visit


About the Gulf Consortium

The Gulf Consortium is a public entity created in October 2012 by Inter-local Agreement among Florida's 23 Gulf Coast counties, from Escambia County in the western panhandle of Florida to Monroe County on the southern tip of Florida and the United States.

Florida’s 23 Gulf Coast Counties formed the Consortium to meet requirements of the RESTORE Act to develop a State Expenditure Plan for economic and environmental recovery of the Gulf coast in Florida following the Deepwater Horizon oil spill. The RESTORE Act was passed by the Congress on June 29, 2012 and signed into law on July 6, 2012 by the President.

The Consortium Board of Directors consists of one representative from each county government. As a public entity, the Consortium must meet all government transparency requirements in Florida, including open public records and meetings, ethics and state auditing obligations. Since its inception, the Consortium has met seven times and held several committee meetings to begin developing Florida’s State Expenditure Plan.

To avoid duplication and to effectively utilize available resources, Florida’s local governments are working in partnership with the State of Florida to fully recover the Gulf of Mexico following the Deepwater Horizon disaster. To foster the development of the State Expenditure Plan, enhance coordination and to also ensure consistency with the goals and objectives of the Gulf Coast Ecosystem Restoration Council’s Draft Initial Comprehensive Plan: Restoring the Gulf Coast’s Ecosystem and Economy, the Consortium has entered into a Memorandum of Understanding with Florida Governor Rick Scott.


The Gulf Coast Ecosystem Restoration Council has awarded the Gulf Consortium $4.6 million towards the development of Florida's State Expenditure Plan.  Established in 2012 as a part of the RESTORE Act, Congress charged the Gulf Consortium with developing a state expenditure plan for Florida to implement economic and environmental restoration projects needed as a result of the Deepwater Horizon oil spill in 2010.  To read the press release in its entirety, please click herePDF Download.


Documents & Reference Materials


Upcoming Meetings

Executive Committee Meeting

Thursday, May 11, 2017

4:00 pm, ET

Florida Association of Counties

Dial-In Number:  1-888-670-3525

Participant Passcode:  998 449 5298#

Agenda Packet


Board Meeting

Wednesday, May 17, 2017

1:00 pm, CST

Emerald Coast Convention Center

1250 Miracle Strip Parkway SE

Ft. Walton Beach, Okaloosa County, Florida

REVISED Agenda Packet

Draft Work Order # 8 (Agenda Item 7)


Wednesday, June 28, 2017

2:00 pm, ET

Palm Beach County Convention Center

West Palm Beach, Palm Beach County, Florida

In conjunction with the 2017 FAC Annual Conference


Wednesday, September 27, 2017

Time TBD

Embassy Suites Orlando Lake Buena Vista South

Osceola County, Florida

In conjunction with the 2017 FAC Policy Conference


Wednesday, November 15, 2017

Time TBD

Hyatt Regency Sarasota

Sarasota, Sarasota County, Florida

In conjunction with the 2017 FAC Legislative Conference


Please note that as work is completed, additional meetings may be necessary.




Bay County

Commissioner Guy Tunnell, Director

Commissioner Philip Griffitts, Alternate


Charlotte County

Commissioner Christopher Constance, Director

Commissioner Ken Doherty, Alternate

Commissioner Bill Truex, Alternate

Commissioner Stephen R. Deutsch, Alternate

Commissioner Joe Tiseo, Alternate


Citrus County

Commissioner Scott Carnahan, Director

Jeffrey Rogers, Alternate


Collier County

Commissioner Tom Henning, Director

Commissioner Penny Taylor, Alternate

Gary McAlpin, 2nd Alternate


Dixie County

Tim Alexander, Director of Emergency Management, Director


Escambia County

Commissioner Grover Robinson, Director

Commissioner Doug Underhill, Alternate


Franklin County

Commissioner Cheryl Sanders, Director

Michael Moron, County Coordinator, Alternate


Gulf County

Commissioner Warren Yeager, Director

Donald Butler, County Administrator, Alternate


Hernando County

Commissioner Wayne Dukes, Director

Len Sossamon, County Administrator, Alternate


Hillsborough County

Commissioner Les Miller, Director

Commissioner Ken Hagan, Alternate


Jefferson County

Commissioner Betsy Barfield, Director

Parrish Barwick, County Coordinator, Alternate


Lee County

Commissioner John Manning, Director

Commissioner Larry Kiker, Alternate

Kurt Harclerode, 2nd Alternate


Levy County

Commissioner John Meeks, Director

Tisha Whitehurst, Restore/Grants Coordinator, Alternate


Manatee County

Commissioner Carol Whitmore, Director

Charlie Hunsicker, Natural Resources Department, Alternate


Monroe County

Commissioner George Neugent, Director

Commissioner David Rice, Alternate


Okaloosa County

Commissioner Kelly Windes, Director

Commissioner Carolyn Ketchel, Alternate


Pasco County

Commissioner Jack Mariano, Director

Commissioner Kathryn Starkey, Alternate


Pinellas County

Commissioner Charlie Justice, Director

Andy Squires, Coastal Manager, Alternate


Santa Rosa County

Commissioner Rob Williamson, Director

Commissioner Lane Lynchard, Alternate


Sarasota County

Commissioner Charles Hines, Director

Laird Wreford Natural Resources Manager, Alternate


Taylor County

Commissioner Jim Moody, Director


Wakulla County

David Edwards, County Administrator, Director

Commissioner Ralph Thomas, Alternate


Walton County

Commissioner Sara Comander, Director

Larry Jones, County Administrator, Alternate


Governor's Appointees

Pam Anderson, Panama City

Peter Bos, Destin

Lino Maldonado, Niceville

Collier Merrill, Pensacola

Mike Sole, Tallahassee

Neal Wade, Panama City