The 2015 Presidential Advocacy Awards were presented during the Graduation and Awards Luncheon.  The Presidential Advocacy Award is given to Commissioners who go above and beyond in advocating for local governments during the legislative session.  This year was a seminal year as our awardees made multiple trips to Tallahassee to fight for the counties priority issues and preserve homerule.

Congratulations to all of the award recipients!

The Presidential Advocacy Award is given annually to those county commissioners from around the state that who have shown exceptional leadership in partnering with FAC to advance the counties’ legislative agenda.


FAC 2015 Presidential Advocacy Award winners are:


Audrey Edmonson, Miami Dade County                                                               

Barbara Sharief, Broward County                                                             

Bill McClure, St. Johns County                                                   

Bill Truex, Charlotte County                                                        

Bryan Desloge, Leon County                                                      

Buddy Mansfield, DeSoto County                                                            

Charles Hines, Sarasota County                                                

Chip LaMarca, Broward County                                                 

Christine Robinson, Sarasota County                                                      

Christopher Constance, Charlotte County                                                            

Doug Daniels, Volusia County                                                    

Doug Smith, Martin County                                                        

Fred Hawkins, Osceola County                                                  

Heather Carruthers, Monroe County                                                     

James Brooks, Highlands County                                                              

Jayer Williamson, Santa Rosa County                                                                                     

Jean Monestime, Miami-Dade County                                                  

John Haddox, Martin County                                                     

John Hall, Polk County                                                  

John Horan, Seminole County                                                   

Karson Turner, Hendry County                                                 

Kathy Bryant, Marion County                                                    

Lee Constantine, Seminole County                                                           

Lee Pinkoson, Alachua County                                                  

Martin Kiar, Broward County                                                     

Matthew Schellenberg, Duval County                                                   

Melissa McKinlay, Palm Beach County                                                   

Nathan Boyles, Okaloosa County                                                                             

Peter O’Bryan, Indian River County                                                        

Priscilla Taylor, Palm Beach County                                                                                          

Ralph Thomas, Wakulla County                                                 

Ron Williams, Columbia County                                                

Ronnie Moore, Madison County                                                              

Sally Heyman, Miami-Dade County                                                         

Scarlet Frisina, Columbia County                                                              

Shelley Vana, Palm Beach County                                                            

Sue Birge, Hardee County                                                           

Tod Mowery, St. Lucie County                                                  

Welton Cadwell, Lake County                                        



For 85 years, the Florida Association of Counties has represented the diverse interests of Florida’s counties, emphasizing the importance of protecting home rule – the concept that government closest to the people governs best.  The Florida Association of Counties helps counties effectively serve and represent Floridians by strengthening and preserving county home rule through advocacy, education and collaboration.