Tallahassee, FL – July 2014 – Sustainable Florida, the state’s premier organization promoting a bettersocial, environmental and economic future, seeks nominations for the annual Best Practice Awards.  Awards are presented in several categories including Leadership, Large and Small Business, Non?Profit,  Government, Green Building and Business Partnership.

The nomination deadline is August 1. The nomination process and judging is done entirely online at http://sustainableflorida.org/best?practice?awards/2014?best?practice?awards.

Best Practice Award nominations are reviewed by an independent blue?ribbon panel of sustainability experts from government agencies and corporations including previous year winners. Judges will evaluate all three pillars – economic, environmental and social – and will focus on projects that are environmentally friendly, provide a strong business model, help create a better community and can be replicated.

Awards will be presented at Working on the Green in early October at the Streamsong Resort developed by The Mosaic Company. Streamsong’s 16,000 acres of land are in Polk County, Florida. Mosaic, a major Florida landowner and world’s leading phosphate producer, has reclaimed many of its former mining areas for public recreational or environmental uses. The transformation of this unique landscape gave rise to a new resort concept while also helping support the local economy while protecting the land and water.

Sustainable Florida Board Chair Michael Hewett explained “a healthy economy and a healthy environment are mutually supportive.” Sustainability is the ability to meets the needs of the present generation without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs. Hewett is Director of Sustainability and Environmental Affairs for Publix Super Markets in Lakeland.

Sustainable Florida has been defining excellence for Florida’s economic, environmental and social future since 1990. An independent nonprofit organization, the Council has honored nearly 200 businesses, nonprofit organizations, governmental groups and individuals whose work is committed to the future success of Florida. The awards have been presented annually since 1998.