Escambia County Commissioner Grover C. Robinson, IV was installed to serve as President of the Florida Association of Counties (FAC).  Robinson was sworn in during the installation lunch at the 2014 FAC Annual Conference and Educational Exposition in Orange County.

“Counties are the backbone of this great state.” Said Commissioner Grover Robinson, “Every Floridian lives and works in a county and we are here each and every day to keep them safe, their commute smooth and give them a quality of life that others wish for.”

As President, Commissioner Robinson will oversee the Association by directing policy, advocacy, and the administration of the Florida Association of Counties. 

“Commissioner Robinson is committed to his constituents and the importance of keeping services local,” said FAC Executive Director Chris Holley, “His perseverance in standing up for home rule – the idea that government closest to the people governs best - will ensure that our members are well represented.”

With Commissioner Robinson now assuming the presidency, other members of the Executive Committee advanced in position, with: Nassau County Commissioner Barry V. Holloway becoming President-Elect, Broward County Mayor Barbara Sharief becoming 1st Vice President and Leon County Commissioner Bryan Desloge serving as Immediate Past President.  Marion County Commissioner Kathy Bryant ran unopposed for the position of 2nd Vice President.

The Association is governed by a Board of Directors comprised of one county commissioner from each state senate district (40); five executive officers; six county commissioners appointed at-large with no more than three of the six from counties with population of 75,000 or more; and the past presidents of the FAC.