2016-17 Policy Committee Leadership


Finance, Tax and Administration

Chip LaMarca, Broward County, Chair

Carolyn Ketchel, Okaloosa County, Chair

Jack Richie, Highlands County, Vice Chair

Terry Burroughs, Okeechobee County, Vice Chair

Carl Zalak, Marion County, Vice Chair

Scott Carnahan, Citrus County, Vice Chair

Growth Management, Agriculture and Environment

Daniella Levine Cava, Miami-Dade County, Chair

Lee Constantine, Seminole County, Chair

Peter O’Bryan, Indian River County, Chair

John Meeks, Levy County, Vice Chair

Ralph Thomas, Wakulla County, Vice Chair

Stacy White, Hillsborough County, Vice Chair

Jim Barfield, Brevard County, Vice Chair


Public Safety

Sally Heyman, Miami-Dade County, Chair

Melissa McKinlay, Palm Beach County, Chair

Charles Chestnut, Alachua County, Vice Chair

Weston Pryor, Glades County, Vice Chair

Rob Williamson, Santa Rosa County, Vice Chair

Health & Human Services

John Hall, Polk County, Chair

Lee Pinkoson, Alachua County, Chair

Brandon Arrington, Osceola County, Vice Chair

Beam Furr, Broward County, Vice Chair

Brenda Holt, Gadsden County, Vice Chair


Federal Committee

Heather Carruthers, Monroe County, Chair

Tod Mowery, St. Lucie County, Chair

Bill Truex, Charlotte County, Vice Chair

Brian Hamman, Lee County, Vice Chair

Melissa McKinlay, Palm Beach County, Vice Chair


James Brooks, Highlands County, Chair

Cheryl Saunders, Franklin County, Chair

Weston Pryor, Glades County, Chair

Larry Harvey, Putnam County, Vice Chair

Terry Burroughs, Okeechobee County, Vice Chair



Matthew Schellenberg, Duval County, Chair

Mary Lou Berger, Palm Beach County, Chair

Audrey Edmonson, Miami-Dade, Chair

Pete Clarke, Orange County, Vice Chair

Janet Long, Pinellas County, Vice Chair

The Board and/or the Executive Committee may approve additional select committees to address key issues of pressing concern to counties. Past examples include: Fertilizer Workgroup, Select Committee on Criminal Justice, Select Committee on Water Policy, Select Committee on Children & Education, and Select Growth Management Steering Committee. Select committees are open to county commissioners and county professional staff.


Policy committees generally meet twice a year- a meeting in the early fall and a wrap-up meeting at the legislative conference in late November/early December.


During the Association's Annual Legislative Conference, the general membership approves the legislative program and priorities for the ensuing legislative session.