Gulf Consortium

About the Gulf Consortium

The Gulf Consortium is a public entity created in October 2012 by Inter-local Agreement among Florida's 23 Gulf Coast counties, from Escambia County in the western panhandle of Florida to Monroe County on the southern tip of Florida and the United States.

Florida’s 23 Gulf Coast Counties formed the Consortium to meet requirements of the RESTORE Act to develop a State Expenditure Plan for economic and environmental recovery of the Gulf coast in Florida following the Deepwater Horizon oil spill.  The RESTORE Act was passed by the Congress on June 29, 2012 and signed into law on July 6, 2012 by the President.

The Consortium Board of Directors consists of one representative from each county government.  As a public entity, the Consortium must meet all government transparency requirements in Florida, including open public records and meetings, ethics and state auditing obligations.  Since its inception, the Consortium has met seven times and held several committee meetings to begin developing Florida’s State Expenditure Plan.

To avoid duplication and to effectively utilize available resources, Florida’s local governments are working in partnership with the State of Florida to fully recover the Gulf of Mexico following the Deepwater Horizon disaster.  To foster the development of the State Expenditure Plan, enhance coordination and to also ensure consistency with the goals and objectives of the Gulf Coast Ecosystem Restoration Council’s Draft Initial Comprehensive Plan: Restoring the Gulf Coast’s Ecosystem and Economy, the Consortium has entered into a Memorandum of Understanding with Florida Governor Rick Scott.     

Upcoming Meetings

Notice of Meeting/Workshop Hearing
Department: Department of Environmental Protection & Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission
Division: Departmental
Subject: The Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission and the Florida Department of Environmental Protection will be holding a virtual meeting to review and solicit comment on proposed projects to be submitted for funding consideration to the National Fish and Wildlife Foundation’s Gulf Environmental Benefit Fund. The Gulf Environmental Benefit Fund was established after a U.S. District Court in early 2013 approved two plea agreements resolving the criminal cases against BP and Transocean which arose from the 2010 Deepwater Horizon oil spill. The agreements direct a total of $2.544 billion to the National Fish and Wildlife Foundation to fund projects benefiting the natural resources of the Gulf Coast that were impacted by the spill, of which $356 million is to become available over five years for projects in Florida.
Date/Time: April 7, 2014, 10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. EDT
Location: 1-888-670-3525; passcode 781-302-8802. Adobe Connect Meeting is also being used to present material via the Internet. To join the meeting use the link below and log in as a guest:



Your Name Your Email Your Message

Thank you for contacting us!

Your message has been sent to